Need help with a top secret project!

Good morning!

I work in the UAV/RPA industry as a pilot and engineer. I’m currently working on a payload project developing a working prototype for demonstration next month.
Believe it or not it is top secret but I will give you what information I can:

The end goal is to have a 12V DC motor run in pulses one way and smoothly in the other (i.e. pulse forward, smooth reverse). The pulse width needs to be manually adjusted between approximately 0.5seconds and 5 seconds and the on/off phases can be equal (e.g. 1 second on/1 second off).
Actually switching the unit on and off will be done remotely. I’m not 100% sure how yet but it may be via a small PWM signal from a payload activation cable.

So, whilst I’m great at the concept stuff my electronics skills isn’t quite where it needs to be to make all this happen!

Any ideas greatly appreciated…

Cheers,
Mike
Red20RC

Hi Mike,

Thanks for dropping by! While the onboard controller for your UAV is likely programmable, it might (will) be easier to instead use a dedicated board for this bolt-on project. Perhaps something such as the Arduino Mini / Teensy along with a motor driver, stepper motor and 12V step-up (if you don’t have a solid 12V rail already).

You’ll need either a 3.3V or 5V rail for whichever microcontroller you go with. I’m guessing you will have one of each available on the flight controller board.

The microcontroller can interpret a couple of the many spare channels that most flight controllers have, so you can bind switches on your radio to control things.

Anyhow, lots of options!

Hi Graham,

Thanks for the reply (I think we’ve met before at Newcastle FPV races).

Looks like I need to learn some Arduino stuff! It will have to be a dedicated board as the whole unit will need to be a plug-and-play solution as it won’t be a permanent fixture on the UAV.