Temperature Sensing With Raspberry Pi

This is a placeholder topic for “Temperature Sensing With Raspberry Pi” comments.

Is it hot in here, or is it just my Raspberry Pi? A Raspberry Pi sitting on a desk doing nothing is kind of boring. However, a Raspberry Pi that can measure the temperature and make decisions based off that information is awesome!
The Raspberry Pi l…

Read more

Hi,

Firstly, thanks for the great tutorial. Even I managed to get it working first crack! I just want to better understand a few elements of the code that I don’t get (I am an absolute beginner). See the chunk of code below.

try:
    while 1:
        tempStore = open("/sys/bus/w1/devices/28-0315902106ff/w1_slave")
        data = tempStore.read()
        tempStore.close()
        tempData = data.split("\n")[1].split(" ")[9]   # I'm stuck with this line
        temperature = float(tempData[2:])             # and stuck with this line
        temperature = temperature/1000
        print temperature

The two commented lines is where I am stuck. I understand what the .split() method does but I don’t understand what the [1] and the [9] do in that line. And in the next line I don’t understand what the [2:] bit does. If anyone could shed some light on this for me it would be much appreciated!

Cheers

Hi Julian,

You’re almost there! The two questions you have both relate to arrays in Python.

tempData = data.split("\n")[1].split(" ")[9]

Create a new variable called tempData. Set it’s value to;

• take the data value previously create
  • Split the data value by occurances of a newline (\n), the output of this is an array object.
  • Using that array, take element at index 1 ([1]). Arrays start at index 0, so we’re ignoring the first element and anything after index 1. This will be a string object.
  • Using that string object, split it into an array using spaces as the delimiter. Then return just the element at index 9 ([9]).