Adafruit DS3502 I2C Digital 10K Potentiometer has range of 2k-12k

I’m just a simple hobbyist, learning as I go.

I bought this nice Adafruit DS3502 I2C Digital 10K Potentiometer from Core Electronics.

To test it out, I used the Adafruit_DS3502 library to set the wiper to position 0 for tenseconds then position 127 for ten seconds on loop. This should switch between its two extremes. Using a multimeter, i measured the resistance between the RW and RL pads.

The resistance certainly changes on schedule , but not between the values I expected . Instead the minimum was aprox 2kohms and the maximum was 12kohms.

I tried switching my multimeter probes around, so positive was on the RL pad and negative on RW. No difference .

I checked the resistance of just the multimeter probes and they are only 5-6 ohms.

So where does this additional 2kohms of resistance come from ? Have I understood how it should work? The product is advertised as having " 128 possible levels of resistance to choose, from 0-10K ohms" but is there usually a large margin of error ?

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks

2 Likes

Hi Mark.
I have never used one of these devices but I am suspicious when I see the CHANGE is the rated 10k, (2k to 12k). As if something else is going on. There is a voltage on the ohm meter leads when measuring resistance but I would not have thought that would affect the operation as after all in practice there is probably going to have all sorts of voltages present.
It is almost like you had 2k in series with the meter while measuring.
I noted that you switched leads around but did you try measuring from the other END of the pot to the variable point. There may be 2k built in to one end for safety reasons. The data sheet for the device may shed some light on this.

I had a quick look at that link but didn’t find anything that looked like a data sheet.
Cheers Bob

3 Likes