Desoldering help

Hello. I’m doing a project where I have a second hand keyboard that I need to desolder to fix a stabilizer and the bottom row layout. I’ll have to desolder all the switches to get to the stabilizer and it’s a big board.

I do have an iron but I have no tools and no experience in desoldering and soldering. I can’t solder before I desolder.

What tools do people here reccomend for desoldering? I’ve heard that pumps are ineficcient and solder wick can burn the pads and they can lift it off. I’m not sure where in Newcastle one can go to use some of these tools. Ideally a dedicated desoldering gun. Any advice or help is appreciated.

Hey Ursula,

First off, have a read through our intro soldering tutorial, and of course, remember to use safety glasses and an extractor!

In regards to desoldering tools, we have this desoldering pump which does have some great reviews, and, depending on your budget this desoldering tool available.

If you want to get the hang of desoldering before you get to desoldering on the keyboard, you might be best to start off with something you aren’t too worried about damaging, like a PCB out of some old equipment (remember to make sure any parts are safely discharged prior to working on any board though!

A couple of tips I would give are:

• Taking care not to heat up the pads too much (i.e. holding the soldering iron there for too long) as this can cause the pads to lift up when you use the solder sucker (this is more of an issue with older PCBs).
  • If you’re trying to remove a component with a lot of legs attached to the PCB, it can be helpful to flow some extra solder over the joins, that way you can keep all of the joins liquid at the same time and pull the component out more easily, then just suck up the extra solder.

Hope this helps get you started, good luck with your project!