How to create a RGB colour sensor

I am wanting to create a RGB sensor that will provide data output of the RGB colour values of a piece of material or paper ie possible use for colour matching.
I have seen the following “TCS3200 RGB Color Sensor For Arduino is a complete color detector , including a TAOS TCS3200 RGB sensor chip and 4 white LEDs.”
I have limited low python experience but can learn and looking for something cheap and easy to put together.
Someone has mentioned the use of #CE07823 ( PiicoDev Colour Sensor VEML6040) with a Raspberry Pi Pico
Could someone recommend a package of items that will enable me to do this.

2 Likes

Hey Steffan,
Welcome to the Forums!

I think I spoke with you earlier and recommended our PiicoDev colour sensor. Ive got the guide linked here for how to set it up and a basic look at what the RGB value looks like via this sensor. I think it would be a greatly affordable option and much easier for you to set up than a lot of the other colour sensors we may have from Adafruit.

Cheers,
Blayden

2 Likes

Hello Blayden
After some time spent with the VEML6040 colour sensor, it is not giving the required results with a Pico. Colours either as RGB or HSL do not align with actual colours. Are there other colour sensors that will work with a Pico or Zero. I am looking at a colour sensor with some general accuracy for colour matching or comparison to RGB/Hex or HSL values.

1 Like

Hi Steffan
What are you comparing this with. I am just interested that is all. An interesting experiment is using a photo editing program run the cursor around and somewhere you should see the RGB values displayed. Could be in small numbers at the bottom or one corner of the screen. Some of the results might surprise.
Also if the subject is illuminated the colour temperature of the illuminating source will have an influence.