How to measure the current of a normal 12v dc motor?

I would like to know if there is a way to measure the current of a normal 12V dc motor.
I am using a DRV8838 and a Arduino Nano.
I want to use it to stop the motor once a specific current draw or load is reached, if the motor is about to stall.
I’m fairly new in all of this, so if possible a simple explanation would be nice.

2 Likes

What is the rated current of the motor? Current measuring devices cover a specific range, and you should choose one that is not too far over the rated current of the device you are measuring. For isntance, for a motor rated at a maximum of 3 or 4A, you could use this:

The device outputs a voltage which can be monitored by a MCU such as an Arduino, which could then trigger a relay to turn the motor off. Code examples for reading a voltage and triggering a relay are readily available.

3 Likes

Hi Dan
This chip has built in over current and over temperature protection.
Data sheet https://www.ti.com/lit/ds/slvsba4e/slvsba4e.pdf?ts=1617226724567&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com%2F

If you want to actually MEASURE the current you could try a VERY LOW (0.01Ω) resistor between ground pin and ground. Will return 10mV per Amp. This may or may not be advisable. I have not read the data sheet in detail.
The breakout described above is a good bet as it will have minimum disruption to the DUT.

Cheers Bob

3 Likes

Based on the DRV8838 data source, can a very low ohm resistor in series with the motor power feed to measure the voltage drop across it? I mean, knowing the voltage and the resistance then I can calculate the current.

1 Like

That is how Amp meters work. The resistance is usually in mΩ (milliohms). The exception are the hall effect devices.
Cheers Bob

1 Like

Hey Dan,