Making a motorised trolley for elderly to move a glider into a hangar

Hi Core People
I fly gliders for a sport. The gliders are stored in hangar. To avoid damage when moving the glider in and out of the hangar, the glider main wheel is rolled onto a trolley and the trolley runs on rails into the hangar. The gliders weigh 250-750kg. Some of our members are over 70yo and/or have some disability that prevents them pushing the glider in and out of the hangar. So I thought I could make them a small motor drive to power the trolley along the rails. I am a mechanical engineer so the mechanical bits I am fine with. My efforts to date have got very close but I have trouble with the electronics. I am hoping you guys can assist!

The criteria is as follows:

• Torque at the shaft: at least 10Nm
  • Rotational speed of the shaft: variable from 150-300rpm (but once set, will rarely be changed)
  • Drive shaft dia: not relevant as I can machine up a coupling
  • Control: ideally via a small wireless fob like a garage control so they can stand at the wing tip to guide it and control the trolley which is at the fuselage about 12m away. A cable would be problematic but not a showstopper.
  • Start/Stop Control: must have a dead man function so push to operate, lift to stop in awe the guy drops the remote.
  • Direction: must be bi-directional to move the glider into and out of the hangar.
  • Soft Start/Stop: ideally (not essential) the trolley would accelerate to full speed at an adjustable rate to prevent excessive jerky movements. Once the rate is set, it would rarely be changed.
  • Power: we have redundant 12V 8Ah SLA security system size batteries that we used to use in the aircraft that we could use in 12V or 24V configuration. We could go to 36 and 48V if needed but they would chew up a bit of space. We would want some means of charging the batteries insitu.