Resistor Value Question For DFROBOT FIT0710 LED Strip

Hello everyone. This is my first post and I’m an absolute electronics newbie looking for help!

I just received the DFROBOT FIT0710 50cm LED Strip purchased from this site. The specs tell me it’s a 5 volt device and consumes 6 watts from the 160 leds in the strip. From my basic understanding that means it draws 1.2 amps. There’s no mention of current limiting resistors so I don’t know if they need to be added or if they’re already incorporated into the strip. What would be the best way to work that out? I don’t want to power it up and blow them.

Additionally, I’m planning to cut the strips into 5cm segments which will give me 16 leds per segment. As above, if they need current limiting resistors I would need to know the forward voltage of the leds to work that out but I can’t find any data on that. Can anyone assist?

Many thanks,

Don

5 Likes

Hi Don,
Welcome to the forum :smiley:

That’s a great question in most cases LEDs do need current limiting resistors as it’s exceeding the current limit that damages them. Michael recently put together a guide that goes over how to calculate these values in your circuit.

There are a few exceptions to this, some addressable RGB LEDs (like neopixels) actually have a small constant current driver circuit built into them that ensures the current stays at the correct limits.

This LED strip should have the current limiting resistors built-in, I don’t suspect it has many small current driver ICs but it may, in either case, you should be fine without adding extra current limiting provided you keep to 5V operating voltage.

3 Likes

Hi Don
The DFRobot web site says that this strip can be cut every 5cm (another part of the page says it can be cut into 2.5cm pieces) with no mention of current limiting resistors.
So I think one could assume the resistors are part of the strip.