Servo motor help

Hi,

I’m wondering if I could get some help or guidance. I’m fairly new to this but keen to learn. I’ve been following this instructables and YouTube video on converting this Teddy Ruxpin from old servos to new servos. I’m not interested in the Alexa part as I’ll just use an mp3 player. I have all the servos installed but I’m a little unsure on the best way to get them to sync like the video. The instructables tutorial says it uses a “home made Arduino shield” given this video is 7 years old I’m wondering if there is a better way to do this or easier with a better shield. I’m open to any suggestions. The part I’m referring to in the instructables is “syncing audio motor movements” the link is below and the link to the video Cheers Daniel

Hey Daniel,

This is a really cool project. From what I can find a servo motor shield like this one may be what you are after. This is just one example they are fairly common and easy to find for any given microcontroller you happen to be using.

As for syncing servo movement with the audio I found another tutorial that may point you in the right direction. The basic concept is using a voltage reading from across speaker lines as a sensor input and moving the servos based on this. The specifics of how exactly you want the servos to respond is up to you.

Hope this helps!
Sam

So you are using an Auduino UNO, right?

I can’t find a generic servo shield with more than two servos (other than expensive multiplexor boards with support for 16 servos).

However, even though this shield is described as a sensor shield it works just as well as a servo shield.
Sensor Shield V5.0 Expansion Board for Arduino Electronic Building Blocks Robot Accessories Sensor Shield For UNO MEGA R3 V5