Short circuit and high voltage

Hello there, I am new to Arduino and electronics in general, so I hope you can bear me :confused: :).

So, what happens if I sent a high voltage from an I/O pin directly to the ground pin? Could this damage the board even at 40mA? I understand the output of that pin is from the microprocessor … but who is in danger here? the microprocessor, the busses or what?

Also, why short circuit is dangerous? Is it because the current is too high and it should be consumed a bit, then travel back to the ground or I got the whole idea wrong.

2 Likes

Hi Rachel

Not sure. Never done that but it would be a fair assumption that the IO point could be damaged. On the other hand it may limit itself to 40mA but I don’t think so. It would probably also be governed by what is hosting the IO pin, Arduino, RPi etc and how rugged this device is. Keep in mind though that some damage can be accumulative and the point may not fail now but fail for no apparent reason in the future. For this reason it would be safest to assume damage if this situation should occur.

Not likely at this current level unless the actual track is extremely small.

The microprocessor or microcontroller.

Depends on what you mean by dangerous. Depends on the voltage involved. At 5V and decent current capability things might get a bit or very hot. At 240VAC mains it can literally blow a power point off the wall and probably start a fire, could also prove lethal if touched. Higher voltage like 11kV can blow the top off a power pole and once again can be lethal

Basically yes.

Under normal operation this would be the case. The current would travel back to ground or the other side of a circuit doing some useful work or tasks along the way.

No not really. It is not a good thing under any circumstance and is not normal. You will be consuming a lot of power and generating heat and getting nothing for it.

In a nutshell, It is normally a fault condition and not wanted.
Cheers Bob

3 Likes