Soldering power to buck module

I’m new to soldering and electronics. I brought a couple of the DFR0571and DFR1015 buck modules to power a RPi from a 9v battery or solar setup (12-14.4v)

Question I have is, do you solder cables on the component side or the bottom side as the pads don’t seem very big on the bottom.

Another question, can I have an anderson cable with a diode connected to positive and a 9v battery snap with another diode on positive, feed the positive of buck and use a common ground? Only one or other will be connected.

In the above, is there a way to switch between the higher voltage when available and fall back to 9v if solar is unavailable?

What diodes would I need in the above?

2 Likes

Hi Shane

If the wire is small enough insert through the hole before soldering. On the DFR0571 the pads are both the same size anyway. It does not make any difference which side you use but in the interests of preventing board damage and your self confessed iffy soldering skills I would suggest the side with the larger pads. Possibly a bit of soldering research and practice may not go astray first.

A little sketch of what you have in mind would help. Also what sort of current would these diodes be handling.
Cheers Bob

2 Likes

Did you mean a typical 9V box battery? The Duracell datasheet suggests you’d only get an hour of use at 0.25* (9 / 5) * 0.85 = 0.38A, the Pi can draw up to 1.8A at 5V at heavy load. and the voltage would drop quite a bit. I’d suggest a larger battery of some kind.

Do you have access to a larger SLA battery?

Also, what was the diode you were using? Just worried about voltage drop.

1 Like

Hi Rob, thanks for reply. Sketch attached. hopefully makes sense, basically want the ability to be able to have either power source, only one at a time.

Thinking might be easier to just wire 9v to Anderson plug. It’s just to allow for testing.

Hi Shane
Suggest simple set up like this.