Switching between 2 inputs to light and LED strip

Hey all, this is my first time posting here and i hope this is the right place to post something like this.

Im working on a project for a custom brake light that will have 2 functions: 1. Light up with a dim light (at around 8v) when the car is on/parking light on, and 2. Flash then go solid (at 12v) when the car brakes.

There are 3 inputs i can get from the car ( brake(12v), park(12v), and ground) and 2 outputs to the light (positive and negative).

In order to make each of these indivdual functions happen i have 2 extra modules.

To dim the light i have voltage converter set to convert the 12v signal to 8v.

To make the light flash i have flashing module that makes the light flash a couple of times and the stay solid.

Whist each of these work great separately, im having trouble connecting it all together and switching between them. Ive tried using a 5 pin relay and the flashing module doesnt work in this set up (im guessing its because of the shared ground but not entirely sure).

Any advice or help would be amazing!

Hi Thomas
I think you should check up on the legality of all this. There are rules regarding tail and stop lights. I think about the only thing you can easily and legally do is replace the incandescent globes with equivalent brightness LEDs. The LEDs do have the advantage of illuminating far quicker with the corresponding earlier warning for following motorists.

I do recall some time ago a project from Silicon Chip I think which probably came out in kit form to flash the third stop light (or maybe all of them) and it was illegal until the car was subject to a defined deceleration force which required an accelerometer and all sorts of problems like mounting this thing dead level for a start. I think I can get access to Silicon Chip index so will see if I can find it. Could have some useful info here.