Thonny as root

Had the glowbit matrix working very well. Fired it up today and getting an error that
module ‘glowbit’ has no attribute ‘matrix8x8’ in response to the usual test code

import glowbit
matrix = glowbit.matrix8x8()
matrix.demo()

Thought it may be Thonny not opening in root, so tried sudo Thonny to get
sudo: Thonny: command not found

Any thoughts?
Can the glowbit module run under other IDE, like Mu?
I’m new at this…

2 Likes

Hi David,

Welcome!!

You shouldn’t have to run Thonny as root, just to confirm are all of the libraries and dependencies installed?
I’m not overly familiar with Mu but as long as it has Python3 support and the libraries can be accessed you should be good to use it as well!

I haven’t had the chance to tinker around with the matrices yet but I’m sure the Core guys can help out once they’re back in the office!

1 Like

Hi David,

Welcome to the forum!!

It sounds as if the glowbit.py library might be corrupt.

To hopefully fix the error you can paste the following in the terminal:

cd /home/pi/<THE NAME OF YOUR PROJECT FOLDER HERE>
wget https://github.com/CoreElectronics/CE-GlowBit-Python/raw/main/glowbit/glowbit.py

If you’re not familiar with the terminal take a look at Core’s guide! Basics: Getting Started with the Terminal on Raspberry Pi - Tutorial Australia

Would it also be possible to paste in the output of the following? (this can be run by entering it from the REPL or pasted into the main.py code)

import glowbit
print(dir(glowbit))

Liam

Thanks Liamx2.

I remain in a world of pain!

I have uninstalled then reinstalled rpi-ws281x as well as glowbit.

I am getting a different error:

import glowbit

matrix = glowbit.matrix8x8()

Can’t open /dev/mem: Permission denied

Traceback (most recent call last):

File “”, line 1, in

File “/home/pi/.local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/glowbit.py”, line 1494, in init

self.strip.begin()

File “/home/pi/.local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/rpi_ws281x/rpi_ws281x.py”, line 131, in begin