Using multiple programming languages in Arduino

Can various device programs / programming be in different languages (say one in C, another in an Arduino sketch, another in MicroPython) and all be uploaded / used on a Arduino Nano RP2040 Connect?

I expect that multiple functions in different languages would be written to call each other or utilise API’s, but I’m not a programmer, so technically challenged in this realm. Example - setpoint control function is written in C, takes a DS1820 one wire temperature input using say CircuitPython, with the C program output to operate an on-board relay, and Wifi relies on the Arduino WifiNINA library (uBlox) which communicates via MQTT to a server. The arrangement might also involve I2C on-board comms. It appears that PlatformIO in conjuction with VS Code could address things, but I’m not sure. TIA

5 Likes

There are several different possibilities for what you are describing.

1. The Nano (or any other MCU isn’t concerned about the language that the code was originally written in. As long as the compiler/linker/uploader sends the correct code to the correct memory locations the program will execute. All the conversion work happens before it gets to the MCU.
  2. For any two or more MCU that are communicating using a common communications protocol (such as I2C) the language in which their respective programs were written is not relevant - it could be any mixture of languages.