Arduino SMC3 Dual monster moto boards for 100watt 12 volt motors HELP PLEASE

Gday guys and girls
Im a motorsport simulator builder im melbourne i use the arduino r3 uno and smc3 code to run a 2 DOF sim platform… i use a single monster moto board for this and run 70watt 12volt motors which work great for what i need… ive been given a new project from simworx here in Melbourne… long story short i now need to run 100watt 12volt motors which means running 1 single mm per motor so a total of 2 in the control box hooked up to 1 arduino r3 uno… ive got wiring pics but as far ive had issues … i can get one motor work no worries but when i go to the 2nd motor there no power until i ground the wire i use for interdependently grounding the motors… which normally i dont use motor 1 has the wire cut and placed in the harness because it has 12volts to it… but motor 2 wont work unless that wire is grounded which in turn draws alot of current and the motor shakes while operating and when i stop the motion input…

this is what ive followed
cheers

im using a single 30amp power supply to run both boards could this be the issues
should i run 2 psu 1 per board ?

Hi Evan,

Perhaps remove the motors and monitor the motor control outputs with a DMM / DSO. Double check you don’t have wiring issues, as it happens.

Monitor the voltage and current of your power supply under load. Ensure it’s not browning out. Back EMF can/will damage sensitive digital devices, so you will want a well-filtered supply for 5V. It’s always best to have an isolated supply when digital electronics are in the mix - ensure a common ground between the two supplies. The ever-popular Pololu D24V6F5 5V Step Down which is often used in quadcopters is rated for massive 42V, but that’s still not enough for the EMF of some high powered motors.