Benchtop power supply

Hi, I am looking for an inexpensive benchtop DC powersupply and have come across this:
Minleaf DC60V 300W Adjustable Power Supply Precision Variable Digital Lab Test

I am a newbie to makering. Does anyone have experience with this product or can recommend a more apopropriate one?

Thanks for any help

1 Like

Hi Peter

Depends on what your priorities are. Are you going to need voltages as high as 60V ? If you are going to work with the usual hobby things you probably won’t get to need much more than 12 or 24V. There seems to be a lot of activity with high power LEDs and a lot of them. It won’t take many of these to use up the 5A of this supply and still only use a maximum of 12V.
With this in mind maybe the better option would be to go for more current. I notice there are a selection of 30V 10A units around in a similar price range but at the end of the day it is up to you. You are the only one that knows what you are going to need.

Tip: DON"T buy anything WITHOUT current limiting facility. Down the track with more experience you will find this feature very useful and you will miss it if it is not there.
Cheers Bob

2 Likes

Hey Bob, thanks for your thoughts mate. I will have a broader look then, taking your advice into consideration.
Cheers
Peter

1 Like

I’m with Bob on this - while it looks like good specs, there’s not much point buying something that can do 60v if you’ll never use it, and you lose resolution at three lower end.

I’ve got a little 30v 10A myself and it does me for pretty much everything. 30v will do everything from microcontrollers right through to 24v truck electrical systems. If you’re very careful you can even establish a floating ground for a +- 15v setup from a single channel.

Programmable supplies are nice top have but you can definitely get by without that feature.