Cellular Network Shield

Hi,

I’m looking for a Cellular Network Shield for a project which I’ll probably pair up with an Arduino Uno, I’m new to Arduino. I do have a reasonable electronics understanding.

I may also pair up with an LED array kit (It’s for use in a recording studio so I don’t want an audible ring.)

I really only need voice send/receive ability (regular old telephone calls)

With the shutting down of the 3G Network in Australia being likely to only be a couple of years off, I’d like to get something that will continue to work in this project or if I should choose to repurpose it

Any info would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Sam

Hi Sam,

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you! Voice is actually a bit of a tricky thing to find in Arduino shields, as most applications need data but not audio. There are a few options in GPRS/GSM, but unfortunately the 2G networks in Australia have all been shutdown.

The closest I could find is this:

But it doesn’t seem like it’s available.

What are you intending to use it for? You might be better off going with WiFi if possible, or hacking a cheap phone.

1 Like

Hey Oliver,

No worries, thanks for getting in touch!

It’s for a bit of a quirky project. I have an old dial telephone I wanted to rig up to work on the cellular network. I have a home studio and wanted to have a phone that has a light as an alert rather than a ringer so people can call ahead rather than interrupting sessions in progress. In the future I might incorporate a wireless “ON AIR” switch as well as an intercom type setup so I can be contacted/communicate that way as well - once again avoiding disruption to any recording that may be in progress. I may however, treat those other options as a seperate project on some sort of closed wireless system