Chook shed control

I currently have a chook shed with an electric door, multiple feeders and lights.

It is away from my house so it has a weather proof box nearby to control automation.

The box has a solar panel and MPPT going to a 12V 100 Ah AGM battery.

The MPPT has 2 USB outlets.

There is wifi reception at the chook shed.

Currently all switching is controlled by 12v time clocks mounted on a plywood backing board. This is very effective, but the cost of a new timeclock every time (and the space they take inside the box).

No item is more than 3A at this stage.

As I have some limited python experience I have decided to go down the raspberry pi path to control this.

I have installed successfully raspbian stretch in a virtual box and tested some scripts

I am thinking I need:
1 Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+
Case
8 Channel Relay
connecting cables
Infrared Remote Control

Questions:
Can the relay have a separate power input?
Do I need a mounting board for this or is mounting on the plywood adequate?
Can the remote control be received by the pi and used to control a python script?
Is there anything else that I need?

Hi Ray,

I think that you have everything that you need. You could look into a wifi or bluetooth remote rather than infrared since the Pi already has both those things.

If you are going to be running off battery, you should use a Pi Zero W or a Pi 3A+. Both use much less power than the 3B+. This will be pretty simple processing for even a Pi Zero W, since it costs the least and takes the least amount of power I’d go with that.

You must power your relays with a separate input, you can only power so much directly off the GPIO pins on the Pi, I forget the exact amount. Just make sure that everything shares a common ground. This does not apply to the power being switched by the relays, that is likely isolated from the control system.