Continuous Servo Nightmare!

Hi there everyone! Dave here… I’m a complete newby to Arduino (UNO) and am trying to control a continuous rotation servo motor ( FEETECH FS5103R) which seems pretty happy just doing it’s own random thing.

I’ve tried a lot of tutorials, watched lots of videos and tinkered with the sweep library example with no real idea what I’m doing.

Please be kind, I’m not stupid, just very new to this tech and I will get it… as long as I know why I’m doing it wrong. I would like to make it go 0 - 360 then stop and wait for the next time I trigger it (that’s a whole new can of worms for me).

If someone can go through step by step so I can check that I have all the planets aligned… that’d be tops.

Thanks in advance,

Dave.

Welcome to the forum Dave.

Have you been through the Core-Electronics tutorial below? If you have and it’s still not working post up you code and some photos of the setup and somebody on the forum should be able to help.

1 Like

G’day Shaun,

Yeah, that was the first step. No matter what I do, the servo just does weird stuff. I know the little adjustment/calibration screw is in the the motor to set it to a zero point or something, but I’m not sure how to set that up first. I have a feeling that that is the root of my problem. I’ll go through the tutorial again and again and see how I go tonight. I’ll be back with screen shots and photos if I have a massive fail.

Thanks again,
Dave.

I can safely say that this servo is NOT goin from 0 - 180 and back again. It goes more than 360 deg CW, then over 720 degrees CCW.

What am I missing? I’m using the Sweep example library code. I am mucking about with the pos <=180: pos +=1 code etc and getting different results.

I honestly though that this would be so simple. Perhaps it is and I’m thick, but I can usually find the logic in most problems… until now.

Is there magic numbers I should be entering instead of the example code? I’m going to lose sleep over this…