DFR0645 LED Display and the Nano

Hi

I’m having issues looking for some information to help me with a setup I want to make.

Put simply I want a a button membrane with each individual button to display something different on the LED display with a separate button to initiate the selection. I’ve never worked with i2c devices before and I’m thinking it is possible to output a set number (for this it’ll be 60, 90, 120) but having troubles working it all out.

So you’ll press one on the membrane and ‘60’ will be displayed, another button would then begin that timer to perform a certain function. Does this sound doable?

2 Likes

Hi Jake,

That definitely sounds doable! We’re there a specific range or products you were looking to achieve this with? And was your project meant to interact with another system?

I would starting your search by looking for an Arduino Uno, some momentary push buttons and 7 segment display!

Regards,
Liam.

2 Likes

Hey Liam,

The system will be activating a solenoid. So here is the low down:

Power button.
4 button membrane keypad for selecting a time delay.
LED display (the DFR0645) for showing the time delay selected.
An initiation button for starting the delay (or just to straight up initiate the solenoid, the one option on the keypad.
Power source that will power the nano (needed for size) and solenoid separately (with a transistor or relay to switch power to the solenoid).
I’ve done some coding before but will need to learn as I go (which is a good thing) however I’m just not sure on the I2C part of it. So far I’m aware of including such things as wire.h and some other commands and I figure I’ll be doing some code to monitor button presses and if/else statements to display the right time delay on the segment display.

I pretty much have all the components (other than a stinking mini USB to plug in to the PC haha

1 Like

Hey Jake,