Finding an appropriate sensor for a pill counter

Hey friends,

I’m quite new to development with Raspberry Pi 4 but I decided to pick it up to make a pill counter, since many industrial & accurate ones are quite expensive.
I’m looking for the best sensor & technology to use to capture small falling objects (perhaps passing down a tube or small space) and to add them up accurately.

So far I have tried out the PiicoDev distance sensor and while I quite like it, I dont think im convinced of its ability to be reliable with fast moving objects. (a few hours of testing only haha)

I don’t currently have a design made, so apologise if the question is broad but you can assume that there will be a gap between pieces/pills falling. Extra points if there’s an accurate solution for if there is no gap.

The purpose is to organise hundreds of pieces (number of pieces must be exact).

Much appreciated!

2 Likes

Hi Zacary,

Welcome to the forum!!

A little aside before jumping into the nitty-gritty. With most projects there will be quite a few ways to complete it and finding the ‘best’ solution can take some serious time and brainstorming.

One solution that comes to mind is taken from the book of tracking a motors current position using an encoder. Mainly the optical variant, you will need a tube small enough to make sure that the beam of light is cut on every single fall though. Using an interrupt to capture and increment this count will also be essential. The only downside is that the units will have to move in individual units, i.e. one at a time.

Another would be the path of using some kind of pattern recognition although doing that in real-time can be difficult!

PS: in regards to the distance sensor it has a ‘ranging frequency’ (I think that is similar to the polling frequency) of 50 Hz so if the object passes through faster than that it won’t capture it.

Liam.

3 Likes