Help please. What sensor is best used for detecting motion but is attached to something moving

Hi, I am new to this so please be kind ha. What I am trying to nut out is, can I attach a sensor to a moving object, that also detects motion? The detector needs to work like a break beam sensor, but only one side of the sensor is attached (like a motion sensor). Then be able to run off a small battery with the module Bluetooth or RFID capable, to be able to send the data back to an app or communicate with something that is no directly connected to the module.

A is a sensor that detects motion passing directly in front of it, and only needs to be able to detect max of 2 - 2.5 m. A is also moving around. Not much but on up and down and side to side roughly 20cm in each direction.

B is the cable from A (1.5m roughly). The battery (rechargeable) and the module (as small as possible)

Then C is where the info from B gets sent to. (Eventually in the form of an app) really basic only needed mainly for receiving the information.

1 Like

It sounds like something that could be solved with an ultrasonic range module. Thereā€™s some info on the Internet (of course there is) that may not be applicable to your project but might give you some ideas. An example How to Set Up an Ultrasonic Range Finder on an Arduino