Help with Smart Pet Feeder project involving RFID

Hi,

I’m currently working on a Smart Pet Feeder project that uses a Raspberry Pi and RFID reader to allow access to a pet wearing a RFID collar. Once the pet approaches the food bowl, the lid will open automatically for them if they are wearing the RFID collar.

I have read the article on the PiicoDev RFID module, which uses a Raspberry Pi, but the reading distance is only 25mm. Considering that a pet will be wearing the RFID tag, I believe I need a longer range (15-20cm I guess) for this to work.

I have zero experience with RFID technology, so I’d be grateful if someone could give me any assistance.

Thank you

Hi BenHur
There is a bit more in this than what may be obvious. Firstly the reader has to transmit enough power to operate the electronics in the card. As the card has no battery the operating power must be derived from the RF energy received from the reader. Most of these card reader type of devices require the card to touch or be very close to the reader to work.

If the system you saw is quoted at 25mm increasing this to 200mm is not a linear progression of power increase. As with any RF system doubling the distance requires an increase in power by 4 or 6db for the same signal strength or in other words an increase of 18db or 64 times the original power.

Someone might know of such a system but personally I have not come across it. Road Toll readers operate the same way but with a large transmitter and I would think a large antenna system built into the gantry structure. Probably a bit beyond the home handyman I think

But you never know these days so don’t give up. Maybe a motion detector system or similar might be considered but you would lose the individual ID but there may be a work around for that too.
Cheers Bob

1 Like

Hey Ben,
Welcome to the forums!