How does LoRa.print(xxx); work

Ladies and Gentleman,
I am looking for some insight into the workings of an Arduino library. My background is in C and this C++ stuff is challenging my diminishing brain cells.
I have successfully implemented a LoRa example sender and receiver code for a pair of TTGO LORA32 433Mhz ESP32 development boards. They work as advertised.
I am now trying to get into my thick skull how things are done in the Arduino world.
The piece of code currently boggling my mind is:
// send packet
LoRa.beginPacket(); This I can follow in the LoRa library
LoRa.print(“Hello…”);
LoRa.print(counter);
LoRa.endPacket(); This I can follow in the LoRa library
I can’t seem to find any code to implement LoRa.print(……) command
How does the string ”Hello…” and the counter value get to the chip data stack?
Is it secret Arduino business or witchcraft?
If somebody could help I would appreciate it.
Regards,
John G

Hi John,

I could probably help you with the main body of your code, but when it comes to most of the libraries I just treat it like its secret Arduino business or witchcraft. Maybe someone else knows the answer to this one though!

It’s confusing isn’t it? Arduino deliberately hides these details to maintain the illusion of magic. As a C programmer, you’re probably not a fan of such witchcraft. Good news is, you can peek behind the curtain if you work at it:

The LoRa class you’re using (I’ve made the safe assumption it is equivalent to this one) is a child of the Stream class. Having child classes is the big feature in C++ that enables object-orientated programming. It means that everything the Stream class has, the LoRaClass adopts. You can see where this happens here:

The : public Stream bit means that LoRaClass inherits all the public members of Stream. Your mysterious print() function happens to be one of those members.