I need a little help with a sketch using Arduino IDE

Is there anyone that could help me with a problem I am having with an ESP32 / ESP-Now project I am working on?

I have stitched together a couple different sketches, and although they both work separately, when I put them in the same sketch it hangs up. I have been beating my head against the wall trying to figure out what is wrong, but still can’t figure it out. I am new to Arduino IDE and coding.

1 Like

The first thing to do with a program that hangs is to add plenty of console debug statements to the code in order to identify exactly which part of the code is executing and the point at which it is stopping.

Then you need to identify what is causing the halt.

A typical procedure for debugging this type of problem would be to make small changes, testing at each step. You could start with one of the sketches that is working, and add the configuration for the extra sketches (in turn), confirming that the original still works as expected. Then add the setups and reconfirm. If the setups are complex, add them in parts. Then identify parts of the remaining code that make sense on their own, and add them. Or, if you get as far as including the complete setups, it might be worth creating new test or demonstration routines for the components used in the additional sketches, and adding them and testing, before replacing them with the actual code. The point at which it stops working gives you the clue to the location of the problem.

3 Likes

Thanks Jeff.
I have created tons of debug statements, and have an idea where the code is hanging up, but I’m not sure how to fix the hang-up or why it is hanging up. If I remove the line that directs it to the other tab in IDE the original code runs fine. The introduction of the notification code causes a hang-up I don’t understand.

Post the code in the vicinity of the point where it hangs.