Installing raspberrypi os with inbuilt python 3.7.4 version

Hi guys,
I’m a beginner in using raspberrypi. Basically I want to install raspbian os which has inbuilt python 3.7.4 version. Till now I have found many os having 3.7.3, 3.9.2 (in raspbian os) or 3.10.4 (in ubuntu server) version of python. I tried to use pyenv which installed 3.7.4 but when i tried running my py code after installing all the required libraries I got error saying the required libraries are not found.
So I went with installing python 3.7.4 from scratch as mentioned in the link (by changing 3.9.5 to 3.7.4) https://raspberrytips.com/install-latest-python-raspberry-pi/
After following the steps I made 3.7.4 default version but somehow I got error in using pip command. I re-installed pip but got the same error.
I’m a bit frustrated now as I couldn’t install python 3.7.4. If there is an raspbian os with inbuilt 3.7.4 python version it’ll be great for me to run my code. Or if u guys can guide me to install 3.7.4 and make it default version without any errors I’d be delighted.
Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Hey James
So I followed all the steps as in the website https://raspberrytips.com/install-latest-python-raspberry-pi/ and changed 3.9.2 to 3.7.4, it actually worked and i got to see python 3.7.4 after running code python --version.
But after installing python while I tried to access pip it was pip3.7 and I ran it to see the list below is the error I got

pi@raspberrypi:/ $ pip3.7 list
Package  Version
———- ——-
pip    19.0.3 
setuptools 40.8.0 
Traceback (most recent call last):
 File “/usr/local/bin/pip3.7”, line 10, in <module>
  sys.exit(main())
 File “/usr/local/lib/python3.7/site-packages/pip/_internal/__init__.py”, line 78, in main
  return command.main(cmd_args)
 File “/usr/local/lib/python3.7/site-packages/pip/_internal/cli/base_command.py”, line 228, in main
  timeout=min(5, options.timeout)