Internet of Boat

Hi Friends…

I have an older sailboat on a mooring.(Shoal Bay NSW) that I want to do some remote monitoring on. I have 350W and 200AH house battery though I think the battery struggling under load(fridge etc).

I want to be able to know when the bilge pump goes on, make sure that its still on its mooring and potentially be able to turn on the 12v fridge and access some instrument data.

I have already bought a 12v Openwrt 4g router that’s working ok (not on the boat yet). Its one designed for cars and buses based on a Mediatek MT7620A chip.

I am new to the IOT having played around with Rasberry Pi a bit. I have just bought the Omega 2 (still awaiting delivery) and initially want to monitor get notification when the bilge is running. This runs on a float switch and has been temperamental hence why I want to monitor it. Ive just bought the Gravity current monitor but know the Omega 2 doesn’t have any where I can read a analog voltage but just want to detect if there is current running through the circuit not so how much. I know I might need to use a regulator to make sure the voltage from the gravity current monitor is acceptable. I’m a noob to all this. Any advice would be great.

Id also like to look at remote bird deterrents(they poop everywhere).

I also may want to update some of my switching to smarter switching (Mosfets, 12v Automotive relays?) on some of my lower current devices.

All the systems are 12v.

Any advice appreciated - Rod

1 Like

Hi Rod,

The internet of things can be an exciting and sometimes complicated project to take on. I recommend taking it one part at a time and building on what you already have working. That said, I have a bit of advice to get you started.

For current monitoring you can get a current monitor like this one: