Missing mechanical specs for DIY projects

I’m a retired electronics design engineer building RC aircraft and am designing a launch trolley. I need 4 wheels. Do you have them? If so, what axle diameters? Do you have axles to suit?

I then need a powered rear axle. A simple brush motor is fine. Shaft diameter? I’ll need two chain sprockets if I’m using chain drive - one for the motor, one for the rear axle. AND DIY chains for them. Do you have suitable components? Otherwise a right-angle pinion drive using two spur gears. Do you have them to suit the axles and the motor?

At the front I’ll need a standard parallel link steering setup. Same questions, but more of them.

In my boyhood I built heaps of stuff like this using Meccano and Ezy-Built. Seems simple and obvious to me. Why isn’t this stuff still listed and available?

Not trying to be nasty - just in a hurry and frustrated at what seems to be a complete lack of obvious info - unless you only buy over-the-counter stuff - but then I thought you guys were into the “Maker Revolution”.

Hey Carl,

Here are some good places to start so you can start form a shape/direction for your project (these are parent category links, you should click on the “view all” link on each category to explore in more detail):

For structural gear, take a look at Makeblock products. Search “Makeblock beam” or “Makeblock shaft”. We haven’t categorised them very well yet, but they will most certainly be discoverable by search and suit your needs.

There is no such thing as a free lunch with bespoke mechatronics projects - it’ll take some diving and exploration if you’re not familiar with what parts are accessible these-days.

Thanks for the prompt reply, and the links. What annoys me is that we seems to be reinventing the wheel - mech specs, and most particularly standards, should pretty much be set in concrete by now, yet, the shaft diams I see are all over the place, as just one example.