Neopixels on raspberry Pi and need help

Hi guys so I’m trying to complete this project using neopixels on a raspberry Pi here Overview | NeoPixels on Raspberry Pi | Adafruit Learning System and so I’ve got some of my led to light up but only when I pull out the ground connected

and when it’s plugged in it does not light up also when I try to code it comes up with And I don’t get what this means as this is my first project does anyone know why this might be happening?
Thanks

2 Likes

Hey Lewis,

Neopixel is Adafruit’s name for WS2812 LEDs (we call ours GlowBits, though there are some slight differences. Disconnecting a ground wire definitely should not make your circuit work. Indeed it’s not if you aren’t running any code yet - you may just be damaging something and the side effect is a green glow.

I’d recommend checking out our quickstart guide here:

This guide skips the programming side of things so you can just troubleshoot your wiring separately, then once that’s working you can worry about coding your own effects. Which by the way, it looks like you’re trying to type Python code into your Linux terminal?

This won’t work, you need to enter that code into a REPL, or into a script. To start a Python REPL in the terminal (with root access, as required for these commands but be careful! Root access means you can edit things you probably shouldn’t) enter:
sudo python3

You will know you’ve got a REPL active by the command line starting with three right chevrons:
>>>

4 Likes

Hi Lewis, it would help to use same colored wires for all positive and another color for all negative polarities.
I see you are using a level shifter.
The brown wire from the 1Y of the shifter should go to DIN. The photo is not clear, but to me it appears that it is connected to the white, which is the negative of the LED strip and the positive (yellow) is connected to the DIN input.