New to electronics seeking advice on neopixel project

hi guys i’m after product advice and technical assistance. i’m new to electronics and i have a project i want to do with neopixels, i essentialy need a circle 30cm diameter and the circle will have an A in it the size of the circle, i estimate 65 neopixels would do what i want spaced 30mm apartfor the most part a bit longer in a few sections. if it can be powered by rechargeable batteries i’d prefer that, and if i could run them as either plan white or rainbow colours at the touch of a button that would be good. thanks in advance for your help merv

4 Likes

Hey Merv,

Welcome to the forum!!

First of all lets calculate how much power some Neopixels (WS2812’s) will use at full brightness.

Each ‘pixel’ will use around 60mA at 100% brightness on each channel * 65 pixels = 3.9A. At full brightness they are astonishingly bright so you will probably end up using less. PS: an RGBW strip might be useful here if you are going for a white colour a lot of the time to reduce power consumption.

As for a specific power setup, that will depend on how long you want to run everything for and how (brightness, which colours, etc).
A rough system would go: Batteries → Voltage regulator and battery management → microcontroller and Neopixels.

Here’s an excellent guide on using them: The Magic of NeoPixels | Adafruit NeoPixel Überguide | Adafruit Learning System

As for programming you could go with the stock standard Arduino or one of the new microcontrollers like the Raspberry Pi Pico or ESP32 (both can use micropython and have lots of guides and support around)

4 Likes

Indeed they do, let us know if you want advice setting up your board specifically.

Also, as Neopixels are individually addressable (they’re a rename for a WS2812 standard), you can control all of the pixels in the strip to display different colours, or you can write scripts to create dynamic patterns in any colour combination you can think of.