Noob looking to start building!

Hi there!

I recently bought an ELEGOO UNO R3 Complete starter kit! I am completely new to robotics and electronics (I did buy a soldering iron and a dremel-3000.

I know this is a broad question but what additional parts would be useful? I plan to use arduino (at least for a start)

I am also looking to build as well, but I don’t want to just buy a pre-made build kit (I would understand the concept, but would not be able to use in my own application… just the way I learn).

Can anyone suggest to me some beginner builds, intermediate, and advanced builds? I plan to eventually make an rc car, battlebot style stuff, and precision arms.

These builds I would prefer not to have a pre-made kit, but something I can try make myself using tools for parts etc, I plan to create my own parts eventually (with 3-d printing)

I know it’s super vague, but any help would be awesome…

Thank you!

2 Likes

Hi Tyler,

That Elegoo kit looks like it contains a good sampling of a variety of parts so you should be able to take it in any real direction you wanted to. Part selection can be tricky as every decision impacts each other component and it’s hard to know which end of the chain to start with.

I’m working on building a 150 gram combat robot myself when I can find the time between other projects, I’ll link a few resources below I found super helpful when it came to sizing up parts and knowing what was compatible with what.

I wouldn’t count out kits as a problem right away, it’s really nice to have a known set of components that will work together and incrementally change and improve each part bit by bit rather than have to get a full system working nicely from scratch. Eventually, you will get into a Ship of Theseus situation where your project might have started as a kit build but no longer has any original parts and has been fully functional from the start.

How not to blow up your robot is a long video but very helpful for obvious reasons.