Opening computer files using Raspberry Pi Piico + RFID

Hello!

I am completely new to using the Piico but I do have extensive knowledge on Python. I was wondering if it’s possible to keep the RPI plugged into my laptop and open video files/images with it using the RFID module?

Thanks!

2 Likes

It should be possible. You may not find any tutorial of doing exactly the same task. Core electronics has a tutorial on Raspberry Pi Pico and RFID. You can take a look: PiicoDev RFID Module | Guide for Raspberry Pi Pico - YouTube

1 Like

Hey,

Thanks for your reply!
I’ve seen the tutorial before but I am stuck on how to use my RaspPi Pico to read/open files from my laptop. I also know that micropython restricts some OS modules, so what would be the best way on opening a file on my laptop? I’ve looked everywhere online and haven’t found a similar project D:

Would mean the world to me if you could help

1 Like

Hi Duc
I am not conversant with RPi but…

Conflicting statements here.
What do you want to do…
Open laptop files on the RPi
or
Open RPi files on your laptop.

I can’t answer either of those questions but you might stand a better chance of answers if you can clarify what you need to do. Maybe both???

1 Like

Hi Robert,

Sorry, I should’ve made it clearer.
My intended goal is to use the RFID module to display videos/images on my laptop, meaning when a certain tag is tapped, a video/image (from the laptop) would open. So ultimately I’m trying to open laptop files using the RPi and RFID module.

Thanks for your reply though.

1 Like

Bumping this since I still need help D:

1 Like

It’s not clear what assistance you are after. Is the Pi already communicating with the laptop over a network? In that case there is a Python library that supports what you want to do:
GitHub - poweradminllc/PAExec: Remote execution, like PsExec
There is at least one application built using that library that is available for free download:
pypsexec · PyPI