PCB Board Manufacturing and Assembly

DTMF Pulse to tone converter for old antique phones.

All I have zero background in electronics and I am following a diy project on how to build a tone to pulse dial converter. The project has got the Attiny85 that also needs programming. Does Core electronics do the assembly of the components as well or where do I find someone that can print and assemble a prototype board and upload the .hex to the attiny85 please. Once I have it working I would then like to learn how to programme the Attiny85 and eventually solder my own components Any advice much appreciated. I have got the diagram and the gerber files.Thanks

I asked Core a while back if they created PCB boards from Gerber files. They said they didn’t. I have used JLCPCB for my boards, but it would be expensive if you want just one. For simple projects there are project or prototyping boards, basically a lot of holes with copper circles for soldering. Component leads are pushed into holes and hand wired. Or if you haven’t done any of this get a solderless breadboard with jumper leads. Easy to set up and pull apart circuits, so reusable. If you are going to learn to program the ATtiny85 then look first at learning about Arduino programming. It is easier than ATtiny85, and an Arduino board can be set up as an ATtiny programmer. If you offer a few hundred dollars someone will make your board for you, but you won’t learn much.

3 Likes

Here you can get some resources for the project: Pulse to Tone Converter | Hackaday.io
For PCB printing, you can contact: https://www.pcbway.com/
They do PCB printing and assembly.

2 Likes

Which way around ??? Common sense would say it is the pulse to tone one as unless you have several thousand relays or several of those big bulky stepper things (forget what these were called now) the other one won’t be much use.