Pet dual PIRs - radiation?

Hi. Does anyone know when they started using microwaves in PIRs used for pets ie with both IR and microwave?

And is the microwave only on when the alarm system is activated in the location of the pet PIR?

2 Likes

Hi Jess,

Welcome to the forum!!

I’m not too sure what you mean, do you have a pet sensing system? Or could you provide a link?
To figure out what is enabled you’d have to do a bit of reverse engineering, be weary opening up anything that plugs into the wall!

With most technologies I’d imagine it was developed by the military or another research body and gets phased into consumer tech. It would be hard tracking down a specific date though.

EDIT: Also the universe is a very radioactive place, I’m no expert but if you have a 2.4GHz headset you can hear crackling when your microwave is on - so there is likely some background radiation. If its WiFi enabled (The ESP chips are commonly used in ‘smart devices’ and emit 2.4GHz signals)

3 Likes

Hey Jess,

PIRs (Passive Infra-Red) sensors don’t use microwaves - I’m not sure where you got that from? They don’t even emit infra-red, they just measure the IR that comes in and detect when there is a change in the amount of IR they are receiving from the environment (which is what the Passive part of their name means).

The wikipedia article has a pretty good summary:

6 Likes

Thank you both. The information about pet PIRs having IR and microwave is here: The Beginner’s Guide to Motion Sensors | SafeWise

So I am concerned about the potential safety surrounding the use of microwave in a PIR.

3 Likes

Hi Jess,

I’m not trained in measuring the safety of a device or compliance for that matter, most movement sensors that I’ve come across just have a PIR, I;d imagine you’d be paying a bit more and the extra features would cost an extra $$$.

If you’re concerned about whats inside of it you could make your own!