Piicodev transceiver & Raspberry pi 3/4/400 problem

I am a newbie.

I was trying to send from a Rpi pico and receive from a Rpi 4 and 400. I get the following error:

• Can’t communicate with the address 0x1a - check wiring

And:

• Couldn’t find a device - check signals and wiring

Can anyone help me, as both the transceivers work on the Pico, but not the pi. Even trying to send from the Rpi 4/400 comes up with the errors above.

DIP switches aren’t being helpful, so that isn’t the issue.

1 Like

Usually means the I2C interface is not connected correctly.
The data and clock pins could be the wrong way around.

Does the green light on the Piicodev TX/RX light up ??
The Piicodev TX/RX guide is a good example of how to setup the Pi 4 and Piicodev TX/RX.
The easiest way to connect the Pi 4 to the transceiver is to use the Piicodev breakout board and the cables. (see Pic)

cheers
Jim

3 Likes

Hi @Andrew263297 - welcome to the forums.

Thanks for your input Jim, I have a couple other sanity checks to add before we have to go deeper:

• does the transceiver power LED light up?
  • is the i2c peripheral enabled from the sudo raspi-config menu?
  • are the DIP switches in the default state: all OFF
  • does the device respond with address 0x1A when you execute the following in the terminal i2cdetect -y 1

A picture of your connections may also help if you are not using the standard connection scheme shown in @James46717’s post / the tutorial.

1 Like

The light flickers, but I still get the same message anyway

Yes the switches are off

this particular error message may be from an old version of PiicoDev_Unified.py - are you operating with the latest version? From thonny you can check the current PiicoDev library version
which ought to be v1.10.0 at the time of writing

1 Like

It is a new version

The code might be the problem

Yes, it is the same version as suggested

1 Like

There are two green lights on the board.
One indicates power and should be on all the time.