Pimoroni onoff shim Pi2 or only pi3? also bash how to use

Hi brains trust.
I have put together the shim and fitted it to my RPi2 running Openelec kodi type software. First question is it compatible with Raspberry Pi2 as well as the 3 series?

Second and probably more important is how to run the small bit of script, as a total newbie to anything to do with codes I dont think I am doing it correctly.
I have opened a terminial using Putty via SSH to the Pi , easy enough and i have cut and pasted the code
curl https://get.pimoroni.com/onoffshim | bash
into it via SSH and got a few error messages, so I dont know if there is a special way to put the ‘bash’ command in , ie do I leave it as is and get the error messages or do i use different spaces or / or \ or what thats where i get stumped.

Anyway it sort of works. It will power the Pi up once!
It will not power it down, and it will not subsequently repower it up I have to disconnect power and then reconnect it and then push button to power it up.
Hope that all makes sense.
cheers

Hi Ross,

Could you provide us with what the error messages are as this may help us point you to a solution.

Hi clinton I think I have worked through part of it. Openelec is read only so I cant write anything to it. I dont know if tha would change if I could put the file in config.txt file???
Anyway I have installed it on my other RPI3 using the volumio music server program and it install ok.
However it will once again only start the pi not shut it down. I have gone to this site. https://github.com/pimoroni/clean-shutdown
and run this one first and allocated pins 17 and 4 respectively and then run the shim package, it will start the pi 3 just not switch it off defeating the whole purpose of it.thanks

I suspect that you may be having a permission issue if you try running the
sudo curl https://get.pimoroni.com/onoffshim | bash
You may have more success.