Pi power switch using car ignition logic

Hi All,

My current project is to use a Pi Zero W & Phat DAC to add bluetooth audio to my car stereo. The bluetooth and audio parts works flawlessly. The difficult part is how to power the system so that the Pi has time to switch off gracefully. I have found many threads about adding a UPS to enable shutdown but I find these all far too bulky and would like to explore a different solution.

The car stereo has 2 power options 12V permanent, 12V switched. I would like to power the Pi via the permanent 12V and use the switching supply to send on/off signals to the Pi.

The Pi can be powered on (after shutdown) by shorting pins 5 & 6
The Pi can be powered off via a script watching a GPIO pin.

The logic is simple:
If ~12V -> connect pins & GPIO high
else disconnect pins & GPIO low

My first question:
Is this a bad idea?

If not:
Can someone help me with the circuitry to make this work?

I have had some thoughts but I am not very good with circuits. A mosfet, a zenner diode and some resistors should do the job I think?

Thanks,
David

NB I have a 5V stepdown regulator connecting the 12V to the Pi.

2 Likes

Hi David,

Sounds like you are going in the right direction. This guide ought to help with wake-up via GPIO:

2 Likes

That sounds like a good idea to me, The way I would do it would be to step the ignition Power from 12V down to a bit below 3.3V (probably about 2V) and use the zener diode to protect the Pi pins from over voltage.

3 Likes

Nice touch with the Zener

2 Likes

I know this is an old post, but in case it helps anyone else, I found an article here