Project by Michael; Infinity-Mirror Table

Michael just shared a new project: "Infinity-Mirror Table"

An infinity mirror creates a striking optical illusion - a tunnel of light that seems to tear through space. We thought it would be cool to have one to take along to MakerFaires and conventions. I built this infinity-mirror table using some addressable LEDs, a Particle Photon and easily obtainable timber supplies.

If you have any questions about building your own Infinity-Mirror Table then jump down to the comments section at the bottom of this page. If you have any other technical questions then feel free to hit us up on the forums - weā€™re full-time makers and weā€™re here to help with your projects!

Read more

1 Like

Hey Michael. Im a bit of a beginner and attempting this project. Are you able to make a more complete wiring diagram? Iā€™m a little unsure of the pots wiring and the ports used through the level shifter from the photon and to the LED strip.
Any help would be great, thanks for posting this project.

Hey, @Kelby. Hereā€™s a picture for a pot, but layed out more visually. The left connection is ground, the right connection is to 3.3V, and the center connection goes to an analogue-input of the particle. This is just replicated for each of the three pots.

As for the logic level shifter:

HV => 5V from main power supply / from Photon VIN pin
LV => 3.3V from Photon
GND => ground
LV1 => Photon D0
HV1 => Data connection to LED strip

Hi @Michael_R,
Iā€™ve finally managed to find the time to finish off all the hardware side of this project.
I did the table side of it a bit different, used table top quality glass, didnā€™t rebate it into the frame.
Hereā€™s an insitu pic:

I plan to do some changes to the code thoughā€¦ but Iā€™ve noticed a couple of thingsā€¦
With the other laser cut desktop infinity version ā€¦ the project isnā€™t linked to the more in depth tutorial (oversight?). The code is also different between those two posts (warning?).