Project: Solar system model

Hi All

I am a hobbyist in the process of creating a model of the solar system. I will model six planets and the Sun. I was planning to use six continuous rotation servos to drive the orbits and control them with a raspberry pi pico programmed in Python.

I will use a Github orbital calculator library and write some additional support code to then drive the motors. The idea is to calculate the position of the planets and then tell the servomotors to rotate them to the correct position.

Do you think it’s best to use servos or stepper motors for this?

Am I able to drive six motors simultaneously with the pico?

It’s my understanding that the pico uses micro Python. If I should require a full Python implementation what is the next board up?

Thank you !!!

Daniel.

1 Like

Servo motor sounds a better choice: Model of solar system - Project Guidance - Arduino Forum

2 Likes

Hi Daniel,

Both steppers or servos will work but each stepper will need to be connected via a stepper motor driver so it’s more complicated than necessary.

You can drive 6 servos from the Pico just by having a digital output pin per servo, and connecting all the servos to an external power supply.
The Pico will handle the control signals for each servo, but can’t supply enough power directly to actually move them, so you will need to identify a suitable power supply that will be able to drive all 6 servos. The voltage required will depend on the servo motors you choose.

Also, there are two main groups of servos out there:

• Standard servos receive a signal representing a position and move to that position.
  • Continuous rotation servos receive a signal representing a speed and will rotate at the speed instructed.

Standard servos are likely a better choice for your solar system model.

3 Likes

Hi Trent.

I have often been puzzled by this statement.

This may not be the appropriate post to bring this up so feel free to transfer my thoughts to a separate post.