Rasberry Pi 4 Red Using Piiicodev expansion and motion sensor

I am a newbie so please excuse my ingorance.

I have a Rasberry Pi 400 (red one with keyboard all in one) and connected the PiicoDev expansion board and motion sensor.

Following this guide: Guide and have everything stored in Documents/PiicoDev

IC2 is enabled but when I run the code I get the following error:

Device 0x68 not found, trying again
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/pi/Documents/PiicoDev/motion.py", line 11, in <module>
    accel = motion.read_accel_data() # read the accelerometer [ms^-2]
  File "/home/pi/Documents/PiicoDev/PiicoDev_MPU6050.py", line 128, in read_accel_data
    x = self.read_i2c_word(self.ACCEL_XOUT0)
  File "/home/pi/Documents/PiicoDev/PiicoDev_MPU6050.py", line 85, in read_i2c_word
    rawData = self.i2c.readfrom_mem(self.addr, register_high, 2)
  File "/home/pi/Documents/PiicoDev/PiicoDev_Unified.py", line 69, in readfrom_mem
    self.smbus_i2c_read(addr, memaddr, data, nbytes, addrsize=addrsize)
  File "/home/pi/Documents/PiicoDev/PiicoDev_Unified.py", line 52, in smbus_i2c_read
    self.i2c.i2c_rdwr(msg_w, msg_r)
  File "/home/pi/.local/lib/python3.7/site-packages/smbus2/smbus2.py", line 658, in i2c_rdwr
    ioctl(self.fd, I2C_RDWR, ioctl_data)
OSError: [Errno 121] Remote I/O error
>>> 

Unsure what I am doing wrong and any help would be appreciated.

1 Like

Hi Tim, Welcome to the Forum!

The first step is to make sure your Piicodev module is being seen at all on your Pi. The easiest way to do this would be to run sudo i2cdetect -y 1 (you may have to run sudo apt install i2c-tools first if that returns an error about not being installed)

Once you’ve done that, we can take a closer look at your code. Keen to see your project on its feet!
-James

Hi Tim,

No worries, we’re here to help!