Switch for 12v device that is triggered by another low voltage input

Hi all. Firstly I am fairly new to the electronics world, but I am trying to come up with a solution to this problem and I believe there would be a way to do it.

I have an off-the-self alarm system (Eufy) that has a speaker in the main unit. The speaker is tiny and there aren’t any options to add additional speakers / sirens.

What I am wanting to do is have an external 12v siren powered by a 12v power supply that is switched on when the Eufy speaker is activated. Eg splice into the Eufy speaker wiring and when voltage runs to the speaker it instead runs to some sort of electronic switch that detects the voltage and closes the 12v siren + psu circuit.

Does anyone know any off-the-self solutions for this, or a place that could make this, or an idea on how I could make it?

Any help at all would be so appreciated. Many thanks!!

Hey Mark,

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

This is the perfect project for a relay! (or a MOSFET if isolation is not needed but a relay will work just fine for this).

This little guy would do the job fantastically.
Did up a bit of a mud map to give you an idea of how I would wire it;

The ground for the siren would be grounded separately to the power supply of choice.

With 12V power to VDD and GND going to earth, When the speaker from the Eufy activates, it will power the EN pad (this pad needs 1V-20V to activate). This in turn will activate the relay. With a 12V power source on the COM pad, it will power the NO (Normally Open) pad when the relay is activated and your external siren should come to life.

Hope this helps :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Firstly, you’re amazing! Thank you so much and for the mud map too. I will totally be getting that to do it, it sounds perfect!

Can I ask 2 possibly silly questions please.

1. The 12v + going to the VDD, could / should this be the 12v+ going to the COM?