Ultra low power platform with Bluetooth LE or wifi

I’ve got this picture in my head of a platform that is low enough power to run for a year on a couple of AA batteries and occasionally wake up and communicate on wifi or Bluetooth LE.

I’m thinking about security or surveillance use eventually but also just to have fun and learn. I’ve never done anything like this before but I do have programming experience and am handy with a multimeter or soldering iron and I would like to tinker, so having a bunch of pins I can hook my own sensors up to. But what draws me to this whole world is talk of sleep power drain in the microAmps so something smart can just run on its own battery.

1 Like

Hey Thomas,

Yes, there are actually a few devices called watchdog or real-time-clock timers designed specifically for that kind of purpose to be able to send an interrupt and cause your equipment to run at a given point in time so it only running for brief periods of time rather than continually, what kind of platform are you currently using for your project in terms of the microcontroller, and the logic voltage and I’ll see what we’ve got that’s suitable. Have a great day!

Bryce
Core Electronics | Support

1 Like

Hi Bryce. I haven’t started anything yet, so I don’t have any microcontroller platform currently. I have been considering the ESP32 platform because you get the wifi and bluetooth for free and the chip seems to have some good ultra low power mode built in including ones that wake from RTC or from a sensor. But for real world battery-only usage I figure you’d need to figure out voltage regulation that won’t lose you that efficiency. I was mainly just seeing if there were other platforms that seemed more appropriate. I’m not afraid of things like getting my own USB to serial adapter to program it.

1 Like

Low power has always been something I have aimed for.
Below is some information from my experience that may help you.
Clock Temperature data logger.