Voltage Regulator for dummy battery project

I’m working on a project, building a dummy battery for a piece of photography equipment, so I can power that device from an different, external battery.

The external battery I want to use to power the device, is Vmount battery that outputs 14.5v 95w

The device I want to power requires 11.1v 43.2 watts.

I’m just getting into hobby electronics and DIY electronics, so I’m already in over my head, and would appreciate some advice.

For some more information, I’m not sure what amperage the external battery outputs, or what amperage the target device requires. I suppose the best way to figure that out would be with a multimeter? test the external battery I want to use, and the removeable battery that came with the device I want to power?

And then when it comes to the power, I know the voltage needs to be close to 11.1v, as to not damage the device. But what would happen if the wattage and amperage was off?

In terms of the components I need, I know I need some kind of voltage regulator that can output 11.1v form my 14.8V coming in. But the only ones I can find that do that are all 20w. Outside of that, I don’t know what other components I would need. Do I need other components to control/regulate the wattage and amperage?

As for the battery that came with the device I want to power, it only has two contact pads. Negative and positive. So at least that makes my life easy.

Would love some help, even just understanding more. If this sounds like a dangerous, silly project for a beginner, let me know and I’ll abandon ship.

4 Likes

Hi Mason,

Welcome to the forum :grinning:

Batteries can be tricky as there are a few factors to consider, we’ll try and get a few more specs from you and do the math to check that everything seems to be within safe limits and if it seems like a bad idea we should see that the numbers don’t line up.