Project design help - Installation Artwork for Green Hearts Fair

This post was made on Kelsey’s behalf by CE staff.

Hi there,
I’m a student at QUT studying visual arts and I’m currently involved in a project for the Green Hearts Fair run by the Brisbane City Council.

I am a total amateur when it comes to robotics or anything to do with programming or coding. What I thought was a pretty simple idea has become a bit overwhelming as I realise it requires a lot of knowledge out of my scope. It’s too late to go back now, I have 3 weeks to have a full project design and budget to propose to the council so… no pressure!!!

I’m reaching out for some advice and guidance regarding my project.

The Project

4x Wildlife nesting boxes each containing a mechanism that uses movement and friction against various textures and surfaces to create sound that emanates from within.

The nesting box is the easy part, I’ve made a design and prototype of that which is a fairly generic looking nesting box for a possum. The boxes need to be hung for at least 7 days.

I’ve made some 3D models of attachments that could be put onto a 12v hobby motor and spin, hitting or scraping against things on the inside of the box.

The work that has inspired me is ‘Nomadic Noises’ by Thessia Machado. Here’s a link to a brief overview of her installation: https://www.onassis.org/art/works/nomadic-noises

Similarly, my nesting boxes will be installed in Victoria Park (Barrambin), but in a smaller more contained formation than Machados’. The concept is about the unheard past, present and future voices of the park and commenting on the sites historical ecological and cultural significance. Materially, it’s a fusion of natural and unnatural worlds as the technology replaces the organic voices of wildlife. This is a comment to the ever evolving world of technology, and the need for co-existing with our natural spaces.