12v Pico Battery Monitor

Hi Everyone,
I’m looking to build a 12v battery monitor and I thought this would be a fairly common thing to want to do. I can’t find much in an out of the box solution.
Is there a Picodev option to monitor an external battery?
Or is this something I could mock up on a bread board?
I’d also want to charge a lithium battery to power the pico from the same 12v source so I still can report a flat (12v) battery.
I plan to build this into a LoRa system once I have the basic monitor figured out. (I’m an electronic newbie and a programmer oldie)
Any assistance greatly appreciated.
This is for. Lions Club bbq in a park where they need to monitor the battery that lights the gas so it’s public service project :cowboy_hat_face:
Thanks
David

2 Likes

Hi David,

What a project!

A couple questions that will hopefully help everyone with future replies:

• What chemistry is the battery? SLA, Lithium Iron Phosphate, Li-ion cells? The key part here is multiple cells and the usable voltage range - a LiFePO4 battery sometimes has an inbuilt BMS to handle cut-off
  • What kind of environment are they running in? A shaded enclosure like a picnic BBQ?

Back to the project…
Unfortunately, there isn’t a PiicoDev module but a solution is very simple(and breadboard-able)!
A voltage divider can be used to divide down the voltage to a <3.3V level for the Pico’s ADC
(From topic: Makerverse USB-C LiPo Charger (CE08374) - #19 by John219336, though you’ll have to use different values for a 12V battery.)

The second battery is also quite easy, schottky diodes from the positive terminal of the battery into the Vsys pin will preference the highest voltage supply (USB, 12V battery or LiPo)

Keen to see how it goes!

1 Like

Hi Liam,
My understanding so far is the battery I wish to monitor is a 12v lead acid battery of the type used in a golf cart. I don’t know why they need such a large battery to start a gas bbq but I’m still in the requirements phase :cowboy_hat_face: