Aquarium light setup help

Hi all,

I am new to electronics. looking to setup a project for a aquarium controller. can you guys please share some professional advise / assistance to guide me start my first Arduino project? thanks.

my idea is to use the Arduino board to control light dimming, water quality (such as PH level, ammonia…etc), pump control…etc.
the first task for me is the lighting part.

i bought lots of 3W leds in different colours. am going to chain up 7 X 3W per series connection. and i will have 8 of them. i want to use pwm to control the dimming so i can do the sunrise and sunset effect.

the led spec: 3W, 3.4V, 660ma

my understanding is 7 X 3.4v = 23.8v per chain, so i bought a 24V 15A power supply.

After some help / discussion with Core electronics support team via chat earlier, they suggested i can use Adafruit TLC5947 as the pwm controller and P-Channel MOSFET 60V 27A to provide large current (TLC5947 spec said only 30ma per channel).

i have done a quick connection drawing as attached, can you please let me know if i am connecting everything in the right way?

also if i have missed anything in my drawing? e.g. my power supply is 24V and i only need 23.8v, do i need a resistor for that?

many thanks.

andy

Hi Andy,

The MOSFET configuration looks good. You will definitely need a resistor in there to limit the current to within safe levels. You could probably use a 1-2 Ohm(1 watt) resistor in series with the 7 LEDs and it should be fine. You should always have some way to limit the current with LEDs as without it they will burn out.

hi Clinton,
thanks for your help today. do i place the resistor between the power supply and the LEDs, or between the LEDs and the mosfet? or doesn’t matter?

also am i connecting the mosfet to the right pin on the TLC5947 board?

thanks
Andy

Between the LED and Mosfet. You have connected it to channel 11 you will need to connect a resistor (1k) From the mosfet pin back to the ground on the TLC5947.

hi Clinton,