Arduino and Linear Actuators

Good Evening all
I’m new to using Arduino
I need assistance with controlling linear actuators using Arduino
Project I’m working on has couple of linear actuators, all linear actuators have hall sensor built in. Linear actuators have 6 wires, 2 to powering up the motor in actuator and 4 for hall sensor
First of all, I would like to know what all parts I need to be able to control linear actuators using Arduino?
Second, I want actuators to follow a pattern when activated or switched on and reverse to happen when switched off
When I say switched on/off, I don’t mean when power is turned on or off. The actuators will have a bi-directional switch, when pressed in one direction actuators will extend and pressing the switch in other direction will retract them.
So I need them to follow a certain order when that happens
Any assistance will be greatly appreciated

1 Like

There is not much information there to go on, as there are many varieties of linear actuator and many different uses.

You will need a motor driver to start with, for instance something built around a DRV8833. The most appropriate unit depends on the voltage and current requirements of your motor. Make sure your motor works with the selected driver - some linear actuators require very specific motor control sequences. Depending on the device it might not be even possible to select the motor direction without monitoring the sensors.

You haven’t mentioned what you would use the hall effect sensors for. If you are using limit switches then they might not be required. If the pattern of movement is more than simply left or right, then you would likely need to use the sensors. If they are analogue sensors then you can connect them to the Arduino analog pins; if they are digital sensors then you can connect them to either analog or digital pins. Your code will read the sensor values and proceed accordingly.