Bone Conduction Stereo Headphones

Hello, I’m trying to make a DIY wired bone conduction headphones for music listening/production to replace my Aftershokz bone conduction headphones.

I have a couple of small transducers (15mm) attached to a makeshift headphone case. I currently use this together with an audio interface.

I want to improve the sound quality and loudness - but I’m new to this and I’m not sure what I’m looking for. The sound currently has a lot of bass and high frequencies, and needs more midrange.

I was thinking it needs some sort of amplifier to increase the gain and an EQ (maybe a high pass filter/low cut filter).

I would appreciate any advice/tips on where to start - I also have a limited amount of experience with electronics. I’ve attached a photo of my current prototype. Thank you.

Hi Daniel,

Awesome project idea! Most complex digital audio sources (computers and smartphones) will have a digital EQ built-in you could play around with that to see how you go.

If you want to take a more scientific approach you’d need a proper sound level metering setup so you can plot the frequency response of the drivers - or at least be methodical about playing with the audio response qualitatively.

Here’s a great research paper with some details on audio perception through bone conduction:

Once you’ve got something a bit more locked in, you coud set up a hardware EQ to improve the sound from the headphones :slight_smile:

3 Likes

i was thinking of a active e.q of some description …browse the web for a 12 volt preamp…there are many out there that don’t cost the earth and there quite small devices in most cases.

.but i was wondering of your output audio level voltage if you know this …it would help in your equation