From prototype to final product

Hi there! I am new to this maker world and I would like to get some feedback from more experienced makers (is that the right terminology???). I recently bought a RPi3 from Core and WOW!!!. I cant believe how easy it was to setup and start producing prototypes!! The RPi course on the Core website was extremely helpful.

I have built a small prototype to record the level of water in my water tanks. The current prototype uses a non solder breadboard to hold the resistors and make the circuit. I would like to make the setup permanent and allow for expansion later. It also has to be installed outside.

So now for the questions!!
Does everyone use non solder breadboards in their final product?
What housing can you get for outdoor use?
Does RPi’s need airflow or can the housing be air/waterproof?
Does RPi’s get damaged from being outside in sometimes moist air?
How does everyone attach boards to the housing?

Hi Denver,

Congrats on getting to that point with Raspberry Pi. I’m sure other people will chime in with their own thoughts but here are a few things about some of those points:

1. 99% of projects use some form of soldered board as solderless connections just aren’t reliable enough for the majority of use cases. If you’ve already got your project nailed down on a breadboard and you’re happy with the circuit, then the best option (in my opinion) is to use one of the Adafruit Perma-Proto boards which match the layout of a solderless breadboard, however, you can solder to them.

2. You can get a bunch of different enclosures for a Raspberry Pi, however, the best option is definitely to just get a decent enclosure, and mount it somewhere undercover, rather than a waterproof enclosure (I haven’t used one) as all of your connections need to be waterproofed as well.