Greenhouse project

Gday all, i am completely new to this kind of electronic work. I have a greenhouse that i grow chilli’s in. I would like to create a controller to regulate the humidity and measure the level in the water tank.

Im not sure wether to use a raspberrypi or arduino. The whole system runs from a 12v solar system with a storage capacity of 5000Ah.

I need the system to measure humidity and activate a water solenoid to raise humidity and turn it off again once at set humidity.

It also has to shut off the pump when the water level drops to low.

The pump is a 12v pressure activated type - similar to what you would find in a camper van. Always holds 80psi.

I have no idea where to start or what the best plan of attack would be.

Regards, Eric

3 Likes

Hi Eric,

Welcome to the forum :slightly_smiling_face:

What kind of system is already installed and what is it capable of doing? Do you already have a humidifier unit in place that you are looking to swap a new controller in to drive?

There are some popular units out there made by a group called Inkbird that are designed to be a simple plug-in humidity controller that can operate external mains controlled elements.
https://inkbird.com/products/ihc-200

Core Electronics will have everything you need to build a system using either a Raspberry Pi or an Arduino but it may be more trouble than necessary if there is a turn-key solution that will get it working and avoid any issues with controlling mains devices via a home-made device.

1 Like

Unfortunately there is no mains power. And its not viable for me to run mains power to the greenhouse. For humidity it uses a spray misting system that runs from mains water, or in my case mains pressure tank water. Its just a hose with tiny brass sprayers.

1 Like

Hi Eric
5000Ahr ?? That ia a fair bit of storage and pretty much a full on solar system. The equivalent of 50 x 100Ahr batteries. Is that a typo or do you really have that capacity.